The rules of cricket
Law 33 (Handled the ball)
1. Out Handled the ball
Either batsman is out Handled the ball if he wilfully touches the ball while in play with a hand or hands not holding the bat unless he does so with the consent of the opposing side.
2. Not out Handled the ball
Notwithstanding 1 above, a batsman will not be out under this Law if
(i) he handles the ball in order to avoid injury.
(ii) he uses his hand or hands to return the ball to any member of the fielding side without the consent of that side. Note, however, the provisions of Law 37.4 (Returning the ball to a member of the fielding side).
3. Runs scored
If either batsman is dismissed under this Law, any runs completed before the offence, together with any penalty extras and the penalty for a No ball or Wide, if applicable, shall be scored. See Laws 18.10 (Runs scored when a batsman is dismissed) and 42.17 (Penalty runs).
4. Bowler does not get credit
The bowler does not get credit for the wicket.